Oh God, I love schlag.

by

img_2901

Thanks to my friend Zizou*, who is visiting from San Francisco and steadfastly eating through a packed schedule of restaurants, I finally ended up tasting the famous food at Peter Luger on Sunday afternoon.  Yes, I ate lunch there before going home to cook a big Sunday dinner.  But I only ate a hamburger, not steak.

img_2900

And a piece of slab bacon.

img_2908

And schlag, which is the most beautiful way to say “whipped cream” that I know.

img_2916

With just a bit of apple strudel for ballast.

And then I went home and cooked pork spare ribs in in a spicy glaze, fried chicken wings in a sweet and sticky soy sauce glaze, dumplings that were terrible, and 짬뽕, jjampong, a Korean-Chinese noodle soup that’s filled with seafood and spiked with crushed red pepper oil.  The last, to my utter relief, was good.  I think it was the two dozen clams.

* My friend who insists on remaining anonymous even though half the readers of this blog know who she is.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Oh God, I love schlag.”

  1. Diane Says:

    We love Zizou! That schlag looks so decadent and wonderful.

  2. Don Cuevas Says:

    Sounds great, but as mi panza is gaining in the race toward obesity; I will have to refrain from such indlgences. (And then, there’s the price.)

    Best wishes,
    Don Cuevas

  3. lina Says:

    But how was the burger?! You didn’t say.

  4. Grace Says:

    It was DELICIOUS.

Leave a Reply

