More goodies from my trip to Flushing

by

P1010386

I don’t mean to sound like a broken record, but I really really love 떡, tteok.

I especially love it when I can find it fresh, in long, thick strips, like I did at Hansol Party House at 160-28 Northern Boulevard in Flushing, Queens.

P1010383

A big 2-3 lb. package normally costs $7, but the lady insisted on charging us only $5 because she said there was a little too much water in it that day. She said it would be fine for eating fresh that day, whether pan-fried or sautéed as tteokbokki, but that it would fall apart if I put it in soup for tteok-guk.

I love it when people have such pride in their work, they have to acknowledge when they’re not at their best.

P1010404

I was planning to pan fry it for my favorite breakfast. There’s nothing you have to do, other than cut it into manageable pieces, as much as you think want to eat, and then heat some oil in a pan and drop it in. As it fries, it’ll form a lovely, crunchy golden crust while the inside gets warmer and softer. You can turn it around and around for an even glow. Then you can dip it in soy sauce with a little vinegar, sesame oil, and a pinch of crushed red pepper.  Or you can dip it in honey.

Garaetteok is such a versatile ingredient. It can go into tteokbokki, it can go into soup, it can thicken up spicy chicken dakgalbi.

DSC_0074

It can even be made into tteok ‘n cheese, a dish I imagined and my friends executed for a dinner in the Bay Area. I didn’t get to taste it, but I heard it was a huge hit.

But when it’s as good as the stuff from Hansol Party House, it doesn’t need anything else.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

