Overheard in New York

by

mackarus via Flickr Creative Commons Attribution License

A B&T foodie fights the good fight

My friend Zizou* was standing on line at Artichoke Pizza last night, a cult favorite in the East Village.  Behind her were three girls, clearly dressed up and ready for a night on the town.  This is what she heard.

A: Why are we here?  I wanted to go to Ray’s Pizza!

B: Yeah, I thought we were going to Ray’s!

C: You guys, it’s really good.  I wouldn’t have driven you all the way here if it’s not good.

Several people come out carrying slices of the signature artichoke pizza.

A: What’s that?

C: It’s artichoke.

B: Isn’t artichoke fish?

*Zizou is a pseudonym.  Just in time for the World Cup, Zinedine Zidane reappears on this blog!
Tags:

4 Responses to “Overheard in New York”

  1. Diane Says:

    I thought Zidane retired?

  2. Grace Says:

    But Zizou has not! You know who she is 🙂 It’s just a dorky joke.

  3. Diane Says:

    I admire them both. But got my hopes up for a fleeting second wondering if the soccer star had made a comeback. (I’ve clearly been following the build-up to the World Cup.) 😀

    Btw, can’t blame B for wondering whether artichoke was a fish – cringing at all of the awesome gaffes I must’ve made in public.

  4. Grace Says:

    Ha ha, I understand wishful thinking! I miss the soccer players who were older than me 🙂

    I know I am being snarky. But Ray’s Pizza!?!?! Terrible stuff!

Leave a Reply

